A higher purpose?

Standard

One of the reasons that I established this blog to begin with was that I wanted to connect my photography with my spirit. No, I’m not referring to organized religion, but the spirituality that lies within all of us, regardless of our religious beliefs. For the record, I am a Christian.

Lately, I’ve been pondering the idea of how I can use my photography to uplift the spirits of the people of the world. Sure, I post on several different photography forums, share my pics via my Flickr account (and here), and by posting my thoughts to this blog, but I sense something in my spirit that longs to do something on a greater level that will have a greater impact on more people in the world.

Within the framework of my own spirituality, I believe that my passion and talent for photography is a gift from God. As a result, I want to use that gift to uplift as many people as possible and hopefully bring them to a greater awareness of their Creator. In doing so, I know I am honoring my Creator.

You may not share the same spiritual worldview as I do, but I encourage you to ponder how you can use your photography to have a positive impact on the world.

I haven’t figured it all out yet, but I’ll post more as ideas pop into my head. 🙂

About Heather

I am a hobbyist photographer who dabbled in photography on and off from the time I was a teen, but started getting more serious about it in the late summer of 2007 when I signed up for a photography class through the Community Education program at Santa Fe College in Gainesville, Florida and really got to understand how cameras really work--the rest history. Being a spiritually-minded person, I'm always looking for ways to integrate that with the rest of my life, including photography.

2 responses »

  1. I think you are well on your way to empacting the people who view your work. Its kinda funny how you can get so many thoughts out of looking at photos….Thanks for sharing this!! Keep up the great work HUGS

Leave a Reply

